Melina Mercouri International Prize 2019 for the Safeguarding and Management of Cultural Landscapes

28 January 2019

Nominations for the UNESCO-Greece Melina Mercouri International Prize in 2019 is open untill 30th of April 2019.

The Prize rewards outstanding action to safeguard and enhance the worlds major cultural landscapes, which can contribute significantly to sustainable development and achieve a number of goals set out in the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development (SDGs).

The prizewinner, who may be an individual, an institution or a non-governmental organization, will receive a monetary award of 30,000 USD.

The Prize was created in 1995 and named after Melina Mercouri, a distinguished actress and former Minister of Culture of Greece, who was a strong advocate of integrated conservation. It was renewed at the 202nd session of the Executive Board in October 2017 (the last Prize was awarded in 2011). The Prize is awarded every two years to one winner.

The nomination process takes place online through the UNESCO website. The online nominations should be received by UNESCO in English or French by 30 April 2019 at the latest (midnight Paris time, UTC+1).



For more information follow the link

protecting heritage
international prize
Melina Mercouri
cultural landscapes

Related link

Permanent link: